Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 FIFA Best Player award

Following his success in Ballon d'Or, the Portugal and Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the the Best FIFA Men’s Player on Monday, January 9 in Zurich.

Cristiano Ronaldo After winning the 2016 Ballon d'Or, Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA World Player of the Year award (Real Madrid)

After Champions League and Euro 2016 successes for club and country last year, Ronaldo wins yet another accolade for his bulging trophy cabinet.
Last year, FIFA ended its six-year collaboration with magazine France Football for the Ballon d'Or award and unveiled its own brand new "Best" distinction.
Cristiano Ronaldo Cristiano Ronaldo won the Champions League with Real Madrid in 2016 (AFP/File)

Ronaldo now has the Ballon d'Or and FIFA Best award after his third Champions League title, thanks in major part to his 16 goals in 12 games, as well as Portugal's Euro 2016 success - the country's first major crown.
Cristiano Ronaldo Ronaldo was named Man of the Tournament as Real Madrid won the 2016 Club World CupRonaldo led Portugal to win the Euro 2016 (Instagram/Cristiano Ronaldo)

About the only downside for the former Manchester United and Sporting Lisbon star was the fact he was off the pitch when Portugal sealed their win over France, having been stretchered off with injury in the first half in tears.
He watched Eder's extra-time winner from the bench.
Cristiano Ronaldo Ronaldo led Portugal to win the Euro 2016 (AFP/File)

Ronaldo himself acknowledged to sports daily Marca late last year that it was a 'fantastic season', indeed "perhaps my best on an individual and team level."
His achievements see him once again shut out longtime rival Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid's French striker Antoine Griezmann for the FIFA award.
The Best....
Men's Player - Cristiano Ronaldo
Women's Player - Carli Lloyd
Men's Coach - Claudio Ranieri
Women's Coach - Silvia Neid
Fair Play award - Atletico Nacional
Award for Outstanding Career - Falcao
Puskas Award - Mohz Faiz Subri
Fan Award - Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool supporters
FIFAPro World11 - Neuer, Alves, Marcelo, Pique, Ramos, Iniesta, Kroos, Modric, Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez